Fiji & New Zealand: my two global experiences

I am really wanting to travel after I complete my studies, so I thought experiencing culture whilst studying was a fantastic way to still travel and complete units within my degree.   

I couldn’t recommend these global experiences enough. Having the ability to travel whilst studying is such an amazing and rewarding experience. I have found that it has opened so many doors, specifically in New Zealand where I am returning to complete an internship with the conservation company I volunteered for on my last trip. 

I completed two different experiences. 

I did BUSN3500 and completed an International Study Experience in Fiji with an NCP Grant. The highlight of this experience was the opportunity to participate in a five-night homestay on Beqa Island, off the coast of Suva, Fiji. This enabled me to understand Fijian life from such a unique perspective and meet such incredible people. 

The experiences and perspectives of a differing culture that I gained on my first international experience changed my life in a way. It made me really want to pursue more travel after my degree, and search for more experiences through university. 

I then did SCIE3600 and did Environmental Sustainability in New Zealand through CIS Australia. My favourite part of this trip was completing a 2-hour hike from Bethells beach around to a waterfall, then exploring the caves at Muriwai Beach. As our tour guide often spoke interchangeably between English and Te Reo Māori, it was super insightful to learn some native words.   

I feel as though these experiences have already assisted in potential career development, as I have secured an international work placement in New Zealand. 

Meeting such incredible people, learning from hands on experiences and gaining connections in different countries is such an asset in personal and career growth.  I believe that within the competitive landscape of current times, these experiences will equip me with differing skills and a competitive edge on fellow applicants. 

The UON staff are so incredible in helping apply for these programs, as well as whilst you are on your experiences. I had the unfortunate experience of being stuck in New Zealand whilst there was a cyclone, and I was contacted straight away offering assistance and support. The UON staff are super enthusiastic about international travel, and will assist with anything you need, which makes you feel comfortable when traveling in a foreign country.   

-Mia Sandland, Bachelor of Development Studies / Bachelor of Business

Leave a comment